Advancement Plan

Note: see the Ranks section for detailed requirements on each badge.

The responsibility for a boy’s earning of awards in Cub Scouting lies with the family and not with the pack. Some advancement requirements are done at den meetings, but most are completed with you. You can sign off on his requirements when you and your son feel that he has done his best. As a result, the awards he earns raise his self-esteem and confidence. You can be a part of it by participating in the Cub Scout program with him. The rank awards he earns are listed below.

Recognition is important to young boys. The Cub Scouting advancement plan provides fun for the boys, gives them a sense of personal achievement as they earn badges, and strengthens family understanding as adult family members work with boys on advancement projects.


All boys, regardless of age, earn the Bobcat badge first by learning the Cub Scout Promise, Law of the pack, handshake, salute, sign, motto, and the meaning of “Webelos.” After receiving the Bobcat badge, the boy works on requirements based on his grade or age.

Tiger Cubs

The Tiger Cub program is for first-grade (or age 7) boys and their adult partners. There are five Tiger Cub achievement areas. The Tiger Cub, working with his adult partner, completes 15 requirements within these areas to earn the Tiger Cub badge. These requirements consist of an exciting series of indoor and outdoor activities just right for a boy in the first grade.


The Wolf program is for boys who have completed first grade (or are age 8). To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass 12 achievements involving simple physical and mental skills.


The Bear rank is for boys who have completed second grade (or are age 9). There are 24 Bear achievements in four categories. The Cub Scout must complete 12 of these to earn the Bear badge. These requirements are somewhat more difficult and challenging than those for Wolf rank.

Arrow Points

After he earns his Wolf or Bear badge, a boy may work on electives in different interest areas until he is old enough to begin work on the next rank. For every 10 elective a boy completes, he earns an Arrow Point. A boy may earn as many Arrow Points as he wishes, parents help boys learn more complicated life skills and values.


Webelos stands for “WE’ll BE LOyal Scouts”. This program is for boys who have completed third grade (or are age 10). A boy may begin working on the Webelos badge as soon as he joins a Webelos den. This is the first step in his transition from the Webelos den to the Boy Scout troop. As he completes the requirements found in the Webelos Handbook, he will work on activity badges, attend meetings led by adults, and become familiar with the Boy Scout requirements—all leading to the Arrow of Light Award.

Arrow of Light

Active Webelos can set out to learn things about the Boy Scouts, earn extra badges, go on extra campouts, and make special trips earning themselves the Arrow of Light award.  The Arrow of Light is the only award from Cub Scouting that Boys can wear as Boy Scouts and as Adult Scouts.

Boy Scouts

When a boy earns the Arrow of Light or reaches 11 years of age or completes the fifth grade, he may graduate from Cub Scouting to Boy Scouting at an impressive graduation ceremony. We aim to graduate every Cub Scout into Boy Scouting. Generally, your son will be prepared to join a Boy Scout troop in February or March of his fifth grade year.