Bobcat Requirements


Bobcat_BadgeThe very first rank that EVERY boy MUST earn when entering the Cub Scouting Program is the Bobcat. The purpose of the Bobcat rank is to teach the new Cub Scout the following:






  1. Learn and say the Scout Oath, with help if needed.
  2. Learn and say the Scout Law, with help if needed.
  3. Show the Cub Scout sign. Tell what it means.
  4. Show the Cub Scout handshake. Tell what it means.
  5. Say the Cub Scout Motto. Tell what it means.
  6. Show the Cub Scout Salute. Tell what it means.
  7. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide—Bobcat Requirements.

Scout Oath or Promise – Cub must read and understand the meaning of the Oath

On my honor, I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong, mentally awake and morally straight.

Scout Law – Cub must read and understand the meaning of the Law

A Scout is:

and Reverent.



The above items are the basic information that ALL Cub Scouts must learn, which is why every boy who enters into Cub Scouting must earn the Bobcat Badge.

When the new Cub Scout has learned all seven of these he will earn the Bobcat Badge. He will then begin work on the achievements of the den that he qualifies for – which are as follows:

First Grader = TIGER achievements (Optional Program)

BOBCAT is ALWAYS the first badge prior to any rank after Tiger

Second Grader = WOLF achievements then WOLF Electives
Third Grader = BEAR achievements then BEAR Electives
Fourth Grader = 1st year WEBELOS achievements
Fifth Grader = 2nd year WEBELOS achievements